Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Ten movies will vie for best-picture Oscar

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Wednesday announced that it will double the number of best-picture nominees from five to 10, starting with Oscar's 82nd edition. For more than 60 years, the Academy has been following the five-picture format. Increasing the number of best-picture nominees probably will make fans of certain films happy, and the move may even make room for comedies, action-oriented films and box-office smashes. The expansion to 10 films also may push the Academy away from a trend -- with exceptions, of course -- that has tended toward recognition of independent and smaller pictures that don't always have wide audience appeal. But if 2009 keeps moving in ts current direction, I wonder where the Academy will find 10 worthy films of any kind. The next round of Oscar nominees will be unveiled on Feb. 2 of 2010.

The best-picture winners of the last 10 years:
2008, "Slumdog Millionaire"
2007, "No Country For Old Men"
2006, "The Departed"
2005, "Crash"
2004, "Million Dollar Baby"
2003, "Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King"
2002, "Chicago"
2001, "A Beautiful Mind"
2000, "Gladiator"
1999, "American Beauty"

1 comment:

BFDeal said...

It might be interesting to go back over the last few years and speculate which other films might have made up the 6-10 that would have been added to the five that the winner was chosen from. Hey, at least it will be different.